About Me

Welcome to Garden Variety Runner! My name is Angela. I am 29 years old and live in Los Olivos, California with my husband, Adrian, and our dog, Winston. I am a full time junior high math teacher, blogger, and runner. I’m currently pregnant with our first – due in March, 2018! We can’t wait to meet our little man.
Garden Variety Runner

This blog is dedicated to the things I love most: food, fitness, and living a [mostly] healthy lifestyle. I’m all about balance and enjoying life – yes, sometimes I go through phases where running is not a priority and yes, sometimes I happily eat pizza and drink beer! I don’t believe in “bad” foods or “cheat days” because I have found that those ideas don’t work for me and lead to guilt or shame about my health. Instead, I try to take a more intuitive approach to eating and exercising that allows me to truly enjoy these essential activities.

My husband and I have both been vegetarian for the past 6 years and have shifted to a mostly plant-based diet. Since my stomach and dairy are not on the greatest of terms, we tend to eat vegan at home.

I have been running for about fifteen years, a passion I found in eighth grade that was cemented by high school cross-country and track. In 2015, I ran my first marathon in 4:15:16, but my favorite event continues to be the half marathon. As of now, I’ve run 11 half marathons, with a PR of 1:46:10, but I’m hoping to beat that soon 😉 When I’m not running, I’m either hiking or trying to get in some strength training (usually via kettlebells or body-weight, I don’t have a gym membership at the moment).

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to email me at:


Or, simply use the form below…I look forward to hearing from you!